PICTIONARY

A few hours back , a friend said for the hundredth time,”Start your blog.” And somehow today, I did not feel like saying , ” I will.” Instead , a quirky ,squealing me retorted, ” Let’s do it just now.” And here it goes, My First Delayed Blog .

In my vibrantly mundane graduate life ,weekends do not have much significance. They are equally infuriating as weekdays, in a different degree though ~Cleaning , Cooking , Laundry and Loneliness. Yesterday night, was however a well spent throwback Saturday. Unlike party weekends, which is always about great food, alcohol,  dance, drunk confessions ,and atleast one super drunk soul who always claims to be fine this one was a welcome deviation from that.  Too much divergence from normality , I would say- 10 people just managed to gulp down less than 10 beer bottles and half a bottle of wine. In spite of this no one was bored to sleep. Such was the power of PICTIONARY.

Another friend  who moved out of this city , left this GOODWILL find with me. Nothing less than finding a little piece of gem  this board game is. With him leaving ,I had thought that the blue colored, tattered , rectangular box would remain covered under layers of dust, but much to my happiness I was proved wrong. For the three hours , none of us flinched from the floor. We screamed  at the other team when they did not turn the sand-timer for the second minute. (Always found that Sand-Turner  fascinating). We got into  a  friendly brawl over a little  Board Game! Not even a game of cards. For a day the fight was over something more insignificant than Political Parties, Football teams and just colliding Graduate students thoughts.

Once again I came to realize how poor my sketching abilities are. I made a mockery of myself while sketching the word NYLONS. I actually tried to draw a Statue of Liberty to depict NYC. And NY for Nylons. Talk about complicated things. I think over the year and half I have lost the ability to think simple. My favorite are those All Play rounds. Each team has atleast one member who  looks and listens to the opponents, making things irritatingly funny. The sketches that everyone comes up with-a random quadruped four legged creature  which is apparently a mule, a weird break up of words to help us guess AMNESIA and what not.  

Amidst  the squeals of laughter of crazy twenty something students who have no clue why they are here , life just showed us some simple ways. It is possible to have fun without alcohol, something  that I so wanted to reinstate over and over again. It just helped us to know each other better (emphasis on quality time spending) and grow a tad bit more fond of this Family of about two years . So , I stop by saying Thank You , Pictionary for transporting us back to our childhood and giving some meaning to a memorable weekend. Oh, we did top it up with the best Biryani in the city. 

P.S. I am looking for some more amazing Board Games. So any suggestions are most welcome.

One thought on “PICTIONARY

  1. You can play Dead of Winter: A Crossroads Game.Dead of Winter is a game in which you and your fellow players have to work together and survive in a post-apocalyptic world. But you all have your own secret objectives that may let everyone win, or kill you all in a blaze of glory. Its very interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment